Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Do you love breakfast? Do you even eat breakfast? Okay don’t talk to me if you don’t… just kidding (sort of). Setting aside my obsession with yogurt, scones, and egg-white omelets, let me tell you about a little thing called Turkish breakfast. #FTW

IMG_1620

There are a number of variations on Turkish breakfast, but more or less here is what you can expect: a number of assorted cheeses, including kaşar and beyaz (white) cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, a hard-boiled egg, sour cherry jam, tea, and a bread basket. Also shown is MY FAVORITE FOOD IN THE WHOLE WORLD: bal kaymak, aka honey and clotted cream. Don’t even think about how weird the word “clotted” sounds like, just shmear a s*%^ ton of clotted cream onto a piece of bread (hopefully the flat Van bread shown in the basket below) and then just a bit of honey or honey comb on top of it -pure heaven. I’ll repeat that. Pure heaven. IMG_1638

 

Also shown in the breakfast above is menemen, a classical egg and tomato dish, which I will post about soon. Sometimes breakfast is also served with some cold meats – never pork though! It is definitely possible to assemble at home, though it is dangerously delicious and I would definitely pack on the pounds if I ate like this every morning (which, by the way, we did last week on our spring break trip back to Istanbul!). Well worth it. I mean that.IMG_2031

Shown above: just some babes enjoying our humble breakfast at an Ottoman palace in Istanbul. Yum!!!!!!

