Tags

, , ,

Far from the druggy dessert that the White Witch offers to poor Edmund in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Turkish Delight is not actually going to put you into a coma and have you dragged off to the magical land of Narnia. It’s kind of good. I’m still not quite sure how I feel about it, to be perfectly honest.

Biting into Turkish delight, called Lokum, (usually prepared in long rectangles shown below and then cut into cubes), you find a chewy, gelatinous morsel that tastes vaguely of rose. It is usually filled with some sort of nut – pistachio and hazelnut are most common – and then coated with powdered sugar. Hmmm, you’re thinking. Interesting. I guess it’s the Turkish version of a gummy bear? Anyway, if you ever find yourself in Turkey, I would highly recommend trying some. But I don’t think I’d make it at home. I’m including a recipe anyway, for kicks.

Most modern recipes call for gelatin, but I am including here a vegetarian recipe – Turkish delight the original way!

